Teachers can remove a student from a class from the Manage Students page for manually created classes as well as classes imported from Google Classroom.
Removing a student from a class will not permanently delete the student's account, and you will still be able to view that student’s performance data for whole class assignments from that class by clicking "View Data" in the Removed Students table. However, their assignment data for individual or small group assignments will not be maintained.
If the student has individual or small group assignment data on their account, and they are moving to a different class of yours, please add the student to the new class before removing them from the old class to maintain that data. Alternatively, to maintain a record of the student’s performance on individual or small group assignments, go to the Manage Students page for the student’s class, click the teal "View Data" button for that student, and select "Print Report" in the top right corner to save a record of that student’s performance in the class.
To delete a student from your class, go to your Manage Classes page. Click the name of the class in which the student you wish to delete is enrolled to access the Manage Students page for that class. Then, scroll down the list to find the name of the student you wish to delete, then click the remove user icon on the far right of that student's row.
Please note, only primary teachers can remove a student from a class. Secondary teachers cannot remove a student from a class. Additionally, if the class is imported from Clever, Canvas, or ClassLink, it is not possible to manually remove a student as the class is controlled by an integration. For more information, please see the FAQ: Why can’t I delete a student from a class?
If you do not want to preserve a record of the student's former enrollment or data in your class, you can permanently remove the student from the class by clicking the trash can icon in the "Removed Students" table.