How do I prepare my Google Classroom classes for a new semester?

The beginning of a new school year or semester can mean a whole new set of classes and students, or some basic updates to existing classes. This might seem overwhelming, but CommonLit has several tools to seamlessly transition to a new semester. Read below for the steps to start a new semester in CommonLit.

If all of your students and classes have changed:

Step 1: Archive Old Classes

To archive a Google Classroom class, go to your Manage Classes page. Click on the Options drop down for the class you wish to archive and select Archive Class. Your class and all of its assignments will then be removed from "Active Classes" and saved on your Archived Classes page.

If you change your mind, you can always undo this archive. To restore or undo an archived class, click on the "Undo Archive" button on the Archived Classes page. 

Please note, only primary teachers can perform actions that can archive or delete a class. Secondary teachers cannot archive or delete a class.

Step 2: Create New Classes

CommonLit does not recommend reusing old classes for a new set of students from semester to semester or year to year, as this can lead to data issues. Below are instructions on how to import new classes.

At the beginning of each semester, make sure you create new classes on Google Classroom. Then, you can import your new Google Classroom classes and student rosters into CommonLit. To do so, click on the My Classes tab in the navigation bar and then select Manage Classes. There, you will see a "Create a New Class" option. Click on the "Import Classes from Google Classroom" option. 

CreateClass.jpg

 

GCImport.jpg

If your classes and students are mostly the same, but you have a few roster changes:

Step 1: Remove students who are no longer in the class

Primary teachers can delete old students from their classes. To remove a student that is no longer in the class, go to your Manage Students page for the class the student you wish to delete is enrolled in.

Scroll down the list to find the name of the student you wish to delete, then click the remove user icon on the far right for that student.

RemoveStudentButton.jpg

Please note: This action will not delete students' CommonLit accounts. You will still be able to view their data from their former class by clicking the View Data button in the Removed Students table.

If you are unable to edit your classes, this might be because you are the secondary teacher. Only primary teachers can perform actions that can lead to data deletion. Secondary teachers cannot remove a student from a class or change a student's class.

Step 2: Add new students to the class

To add students to your Google Classroom class on CommonLit, go to your Manage Classes page and press the green SYNC button for the class. Syncing will automatically create their CommonLit student account (if they do not yet have one) and add them to your class. They can then use the Login with Google option upon sign in.

Syncing will only add NEW students to your CommonLit class. Syncing will NOT remove students who are no longer in your Google Classroom. 

gc_sync.jpg