How do I remove a co-teacher from my class or leave a class as a co-teacher?
You can remove a co-teacher from your class if you are the primary teacher or leave the class if you are a co-teacher if the class was manually-created or imported from Google Classroom. If the class was imported from Clever, ClassLink, or Canvas, a co-teacher can be manually removed or leave the class if they joined using a Class Code.
In this article, we will cover:
Removing a co-teacher as the primary teacher
- Click My Classes (the teacher) in the menu on the left
- Choose the Manage Classes tab
- Click Options to the right of the class and select Manage Co-Teachers from the drop down
- Click Remove to the right of the co-teacher's name and confirm you wish to remove the teacher
Note: If your class was imported from Google Classroom, when you remove a co-teacher on CommonLit, you should also remove them from Google Classroom; otherwise, syncing the CommonLit class might add the co-teacher back to the class from Google Classroom.
Leaving a class as a co-teacher
- Click My Classes (the teacher) in the menu on the left
- Choose the Manage Classes tab
- Click Options to the right of the class and select Class Info from the drop down
- Click the Leave Class button in the bottom right and confirm you wish to leave the class
ℹ️ For Clever, Canvas, or ClassLink teachers: If a CommonLit class was imported from Clever, Canvas, or ClassLink, and the co-teacher was added to the class by the integration, that co-teacher can only be removed from the class via a sync once they have been removed from the class or roster in Clever, Canvas, or ClassLink.